Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Maidstone, in numbers

People and living standards: Maidstone

Maidstone local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Maidstone local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 137,023 in 1991 to 191,415 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Maidstone council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 138,405 people in 1996; 191,415 people in 2025. 38.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Maidstone council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991137,023
1992137,211
1993137,390
1994136,977
1995137,387
1996138,405
1997138,448
1998138,077
1999137,941
2000138,633
2001139,116
2002140,338
2003141,246
2004142,242
2005143,353
2006145,307
2007147,741
2008149,723
2009151,594
2010153,739
2011155,764
2012157,457
2013159,308
2014161,567
2015164,112
2016165,953
2017168,115
2018169,974
2019171,816
2020173,272
2021176,697
2022180,981
2023185,674
2024189,189
2025191,415
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Maidstone council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,044 people in 1996; 36,997 people in 2025. 31.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Maidstone council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,796
199227,917
199328,076
199428,121
199528,057
199628,044
199727,896
199827,785
199927,494
200027,477
200127,294
200227,643
200327,790
200427,942
200527,950
200628,179
200728,552
200828,770
200928,937
201029,193
201129,815
201230,103
201330,328
201430,521
201530,967
201631,275
201731,815
201832,524
201932,691
202033,093
202133,738
202235,128
202336,020
202436,712
202536,997
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Maidstone council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 89,619 people in 1996; 118,110 people in 2025. 31.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Maidstone council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199189,087
199289,008
199388,899
199488,496
199588,815
199689,619
199789,622
199889,278
199989,301
200089,828
200190,212
200290,776
200391,253
200491,655
200592,383
200693,913
200795,478
200896,563
200997,449
201098,585
201199,101
201299,180
201399,726
2014100,928
2015102,287
2016103,240
2017104,388
2018105,072
2019106,269
2020106,934
2021109,124
2022111,473
2023114,584
2024116,711
2025118,110
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Maidstone council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,742 people in 1996; 36,308 people in 2025. 75% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Maidstone council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,140
199220,286
199320,415
199420,360
199520,515
199620,742
199720,930
199821,014
199921,146
200021,328
200121,610
200221,919
200322,203
200422,645
200523,020
200623,215
200723,711
200824,390
200925,208
201025,961
201126,848
201228,174
201329,254
201430,118
201530,858
201631,438
201731,912
201832,378
201932,856
202033,245
202133,835
202234,380
202335,070
202435,766
202536,308
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 175,781 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Maidstone · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,2134.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,6062.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,0132.3%
White157,86489.8%
Other ethnic group2,0851.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 155,143 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Maidstone · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White145,99694.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,3451.5%
Asian/Asian British4,9433.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,3800.9%
Other ethnic group4790.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 138,948 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Maidstone · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White135,26297.3%
Mixed1,0990.8%
Asian/Asian British1,5231.1%
Black/Black British4130.3%
Chinese/Other6510.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Maidstone council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,363 per person in 1997; £27,404 per person in 2024. 121.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Maidstone council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,363
199812,429
199912,961
200013,795
200114,354
200214,515
200314,758
200415,409
200515,819
200616,319
200717,072
200817,288
200917,651
201017,693
201117,744
201218,327
201319,048
201419,430
201519,971
201620,587
201720,939
201821,681
201922,455
202022,092
202122,902
202224,433
202325,808
202427,404
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Maidstone council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 16.5% in 1997; 5.5% in 2024. 11 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Maidstone council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199716.5
199814.8
199914.6
200015.9
200116
200214.7
200313.2
200413.5
200512.5
200611.4
200711.3
20089.8
200910.2
20109.6
20118.9
20128.5
20138.8
20147.4
20155
20166.9
20176.3
20186.2
20196.6
20205.3
20214.8
20226.4
20235.5
20245.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.8%

21 March 2021 · Maidstone local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.1%

21 March 2021 · Maidstone local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.4%

21 March 2021 · Maidstone local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.3%

21 March 2021 · Maidstone local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£353,000

July 2026 · Maidstone local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,297

August 2026 · Maidstone local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.