Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Gravesham, in numbers

People and living standards: Gravesham

Gravesham local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gravesham local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 93,267 in 1991 to 111,221 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gravesham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 93,025 people in 1996; 111,221 people in 2025. 19.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gravesham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199193,267
199293,513
199393,366
199493,560
199593,430
199693,025
199793,292
199893,916
199994,575
200095,160
200195,791
200295,448
200395,569
200495,907
200596,884
200697,574
200798,496
200899,394
2009100,188
2010101,076
2011101,766
2012103,004
2013103,837
2014105,434
2015106,404
2016106,823
2017106,543
2018106,726
2019107,348
2020107,146
2021106,883
2022107,120
2023109,114
2024110,715
2025111,221
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gravesham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,018 people in 1996; 23,414 people in 2025. 17% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gravesham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,558
199219,675
199319,774
199419,971
199520,051
199620,018
199720,111
199820,275
199920,751
200020,744
200120,654
200220,356
200320,237
200420,098
200520,099
200620,103
200720,241
200820,249
200920,399
201020,620
201120,698
201221,000
201321,085
201421,475
201521,834
201621,922
201721,914
201822,029
201922,275
202022,369
202122,263
202222,521
202323,084
202423,422
202523,414
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gravesham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 59,055 people in 1996; 68,998 people in 2025. 16.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gravesham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199160,576
199260,561
199360,102
199460,001
199559,556
199659,055
199759,062
199859,325
199959,466
200059,918
200160,431
200260,209
200360,373
200460,779
200561,643
200662,230
200762,932
200863,510
200963,903
201064,349
201164,629
201264,859
201365,310
201466,225
201566,669
201666,755
201766,426
201866,359
201966,641
202066,299
202166,145
202266,141
202367,441
202468,559
202568,998
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gravesham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,952 people in 1996; 18,809 people in 2025. 34.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gravesham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,133
199213,277
199313,490
199413,588
199513,823
199613,952
199714,119
199814,316
199914,358
200014,498
200114,706
200214,883
200314,959
200415,030
200515,142
200615,241
200715,323
200815,635
200915,886
201016,107
201116,439
201217,145
201317,442
201417,734
201517,901
201618,146
201718,203
201818,338
201918,432
202018,478
202118,475
202218,458
202318,589
202418,734
202518,809
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 106,902 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gravesham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh11,99911.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6,9526.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,8282.6%
White81,89376.6%
Other ethnic group3,2303%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 101,720 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gravesham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White84,22682.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,0662%
Asian/Asian British10,60410.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,8852.8%
Other ethnic group1,9391.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 95,717 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gravesham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,69789.5%
Mixed9721%
Asian/Asian British7,8778.2%
Black/Black British6100.6%
Chinese/Other5610.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gravesham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,900 per person in 1997; £24,984 per person in 2024. 152.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gravesham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,900
19989,980
199910,381
200010,872
200111,355
200211,845
200312,112
200412,613
200512,915
200613,409
200714,135
200814,469
200915,022
201015,152
201115,374
201215,802
201316,280
201416,755
201517,529
201618,283
201719,091
201819,519
201920,531
202020,782
202121,441
202222,717
202323,587
202424,984
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gravesham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -6.7% in 1997; -3.8% in 2024. 2.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gravesham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-6.7
1998-7.8
1999-8.2
2000-8.7
2001-8.2
2002-6.4
2003-7.1
2004-7.1
2005-8.1
2006-8.4
2007-7.9
2008-8.1
2009-6.2
2010-6.2
2011-5.6
2012-6.4
2013-7.1
2014-7.3
2015-7.9
2016-5.1
2017-3.1
2018-4.4
2019-2.6
2020-1
2021-1.8
2022-1.1
2023-3.5
2024-3.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.8%

21 March 2021 · Gravesham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.5%

21 March 2021 · Gravesham local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.3%

21 March 2021 · Gravesham local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.8%

21 March 2021 · Gravesham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£345,000

July 2026 · Gravesham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,336

August 2026 · Gravesham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.