The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
5 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.
Lower Leas Coastal Park, Folkestone
Lower Leas Coastal Park play renewal
The renewed play area offers new equipment and inclusive play features.
Opened August 2026, confirmed in the September council update · evidence dated 2026-09-09
Responsible body: Folkestone and Hythe District Council
What the source says: Opening is established; it does not prove every child can reach or use every feature.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Autumn district update confirms Lower Leas opening →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Make the renewed play area accessible in practice →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Coast Drive, Greatstone
Changing Tides Coastal Centre
The Greatstone centre has opened with beach huts, toilets and visitor facilities.
Centre open; the watersports element remains planned in the August update · evidence dated 2026-08-18
Responsible body: Folkestone and Hythe District Council
What the source says: The council distinguishes the opened facilities from the planned seasonal watersports centre.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Changing Tides Coastal Centre opening update →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Follow local investment through to usable services →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Central Folkestone
Folkestone town-centre street renewal
The programme changes roads and public spaces around the town centre.
Works progressing; remaining civil works and planting still described as future in the autumn update · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Folkestone and Hythe District Council
What the source says: The article records progress rather than final completion. Disruption and future planting are acknowledged.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Your District Today, Autumn 2026 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Keep town-centre journeys clear while works continue →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
How to track delivery →Bouverie Place and Sandgate Road, Folkestone
Folca building reuse
The former department store is being prepared for new uses, with its two sections treated separately.
Initial roof and window works complete; sale and future occupation still in progress · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Folkestone and Hythe District Council
What the source says: Medical-space designs are being developed. This does not confirm an open medical centre or completed sale.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Your District Today, Autumn 2026: Folca →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Follow local investment through to usable services →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Mermaid Beach, Folkestone
Mermaid Beach walkway repair
The storm-damaged concrete walkway is due to be repaired.
Repair funding committed; completed reopening not established · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Folkestone and Hythe District Council
What the source says: The council distinguishes the damaged walkway from the intact rock coastal-protection structure.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Your District Today, Autumn 2026: coastal walkway →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Restore coastal access without overstating flood protection →
How to track delivery →