Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Folkestone and Hythe, in numbers

People and living standards: Folkestone and Hythe

Folkestone and Hythe local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Folkestone and Hythe local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 93,029 in 1991 to 112,163 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Folkestone and Hythe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 94,973 people in 1996; 112,163 people in 2025. 18.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Folkestone and Hythe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199193,029
199293,474
199393,401
199494,071
199593,980
199694,973
199794,880
199894,810
199995,811
200096,417
200196,345
200297,205
200398,540
200499,949
2005101,509
2006102,469
2007103,902
2008104,782
2009105,716
2010106,962
2011108,199
2012108,185
2013107,899
2014108,153
2015108,327
2016109,235
2017109,095
2018109,728
2019109,659
2020109,587
2021110,040
2022110,179
2023111,188
2024111,908
2025112,163
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Folkestone and Hythe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,747 people in 1996; 18,087 people in 2025. 3.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Folkestone and Hythe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,495
199217,831
199318,126
199418,403
199518,534
199618,747
199718,764
199818,700
199919,084
200019,144
200118,807
200219,023
200319,172
200419,359
200519,320
200619,199
200719,220
200819,075
200919,096
201019,147
201119,185
201219,028
201318,762
201418,590
201518,475
201618,560
201718,382
201818,465
201918,369
202018,239
202118,178
202218,169
202318,259
202418,298
202518,087
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Folkestone and Hythe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,628 people in 1996; 64,492 people in 2025. 13.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Folkestone and Hythe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199155,509
199255,672
199355,336
199455,942
199555,848
199656,628
199756,786
199856,871
199957,442
200058,064
200158,191
200258,602
200359,663
200460,661
200561,984
200662,972
200764,003
200864,704
200965,073
201065,884
201166,303
201265,474
201364,615
201464,385
201564,277
201664,609
201764,243
201864,392
201964,026
202063,893
202164,278
202263,955
202364,482
202464,596
202564,492
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Folkestone and Hythe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,598 people in 1996; 29,584 people in 2025. 51% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Folkestone and Hythe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,025
199219,971
199319,939
199419,726
199519,598
199619,598
199719,330
199819,239
199919,285
200019,209
200119,347
200219,580
200319,705
200419,929
200520,205
200620,298
200720,679
200821,003
200921,547
201021,931
201122,711
201223,683
201324,522
201425,178
201525,575
201626,066
201726,470
201826,871
201927,264
202027,455
202127,584
202228,055
202328,447
202429,014
202529,584
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 109,759 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Folkestone and Hythe · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,2713.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6820.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,1081.9%
White101,61492.6%
Other ethnic group1,0841%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 107,969 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Folkestone and Hythe · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White102,21594.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2671.2%
Asian/Asian British3,6993.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4580.4%
Other ethnic group3300.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 96,238 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Folkestone and Hythe · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White93,63397.3%
Mixed6850.7%
Asian/Asian British1,3981.5%
Black/Black British1990.2%
Chinese/Other3230.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Folkestone and Hythe council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,791 per person in 1997; £25,977 per person in 2024. 165.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Folkestone and Hythe council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,791
199810,025
199910,491
200011,127
200111,718
200212,147
200312,444
200412,981
200513,417
200613,930
200714,672
200815,132
200915,738
201015,879
201116,033
201216,728
201317,497
201418,018
201518,996
201619,471
201720,153
201820,414
201921,005
202021,297
202122,003
202222,765
202324,107
202425,977
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Folkestone and Hythe council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.7% in 1997; 0% in 2024. 7.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Folkestone and Hythe council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.7
1998-7.4
1999-7.3
2000-6.5
2001-5.3
2002-4
2003-4.5
2004-4.4
2005-4.6
2006-4.9
2007-4.4
2008-3.9
2009-1.7
2010-1.7
2011-1.6
2012-1
2013-0.1
2014-0.4
2015-0.1
20161.1
20172.3
20180
2019-0.3
20201.5
20210.7
2022-0.9
2023-1.4
20240
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.2%

21 March 2021 · Folkestone and Hythe local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.1%

21 March 2021 · Folkestone and Hythe local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Folkestone and Hythe local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.5%

21 March 2021 · Folkestone and Hythe local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£303,000

July 2026 · Folkestone and Hythe local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,178

August 2026 · Folkestone and Hythe local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.