Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Dartford, in numbers

People and living standards: Dartford

Dartford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Dartford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 80,141 in 1991 to 126,297 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Dartford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 82,981 people in 1996; 126,297 people in 2025. 52.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Dartford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199180,141
199281,005
199381,682
199482,443
199582,632
199682,981
199783,712
199884,619
199985,045
200085,509
200185,956
200286,403
200387,011
200488,277
200589,990
200691,174
200792,242
200893,946
200995,266
201096,337
201197,604
201299,064
2013100,756
2014102,765
2015104,379
2016105,905
2017108,372
2018110,818
2019113,928
2020115,572
2021116,819
2022119,075
2023121,765
2024124,594
2025126,297
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Dartford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,272 people in 1996; 28,446 people in 2025. 64.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Dartford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,775
199216,090
199316,404
199416,745
199516,976
199617,272
199717,536
199817,820
199918,189
200018,298
200118,229
200218,311
200318,471
200418,626
200518,729
200618,737
200718,782
200819,142
200919,412
201019,643
201120,009
201220,278
201320,692
201421,221
201521,656
201622,099
201723,017
201824,004
201925,102
202025,799
202126,048
202226,887
202327,524
202428,250
202528,446
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Dartford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,883 people in 1996; 80,843 people in 2025. 50% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Dartford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,936
199253,364
199353,610
199453,951
199553,883
199653,883
199754,207
199854,738
199954,681
200054,921
200155,282
200255,566
200355,921
200456,918
200558,440
200659,616
200760,444
200861,513
200962,300
201062,903
201163,533
201264,301
201365,135
201466,349
201567,313
201668,308
201769,775
201871,139
201972,921
202073,791
202174,684
202275,933
202377,783
202479,568
202580,843
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Dartford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,826 people in 1996; 17,008 people in 2025. 43.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Dartford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,430
199211,551
199311,668
199411,747
199511,773
199611,826
199711,969
199812,061
199912,175
200012,290
200112,445
200212,526
200312,619
200412,733
200512,821
200612,821
200713,016
200813,291
200913,554
201013,791
201114,062
201214,485
201314,929
201415,195
201515,410
201615,498
201715,580
201815,675
201915,905
202015,982
202116,087
202216,255
202316,458
202416,776
202517,008
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 116,754 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dartford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh11,5139.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African12,28210.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,6383.1%
White86,93674.5%
Other ethnic group2,3852%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 97,365 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dartford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,07087.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,1612.2%
Asian/Asian British5,7996%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,5783.7%
Other ethnic group7570.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 85,911 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dartford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White81,18394.5%
Mixed1,0451.2%
Asian/Asian British2,2932.7%
Black/Black British7560.9%
Chinese/Other6340.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Dartford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,616 per person in 1997; £25,680 per person in 2024. 121.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Dartford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,616
199811,660
199912,243
200012,952
200113,502
200214,011
200314,305
200414,676
200514,914
200615,418
200716,306
200816,522
200916,838
201016,935
201117,009
201217,497
201317,848
201418,352
201519,231
201619,962
201720,335
201820,688
201921,087
202020,911
202121,909
202222,913
202324,352
202425,680
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Dartford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 9.5% in 1997; -1.1% in 2024. 10.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Dartford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19979.5
19987.7
19998.2
20008.8
20019.1
200210.7
20039.7
20048.1
20056.1
20065.3
20076.3
20084.9
20095.2
20104.9
20114.4
20123.6
20131.9
20141.5
20151.1
20163.7
20173.2
20181.4
20190.1
2020-0.4
20210.3
2022-0.2
2023-0.4
2024-1.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

64.9%

21 March 2021 · Dartford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Dartford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.2%

21 March 2021 · Dartford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Dartford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£348,000

July 2026 · Dartford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,575

August 2026 · Dartford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.