Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Kent, in numbers

People and living standards

Kent County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Kent County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 1,285,798 in 1991 to 1,652,769 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Kent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,297,663 people in 1996; 1,652,769 people in 2025. 27.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Kent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19911,285,798
19921,285,235
19931,285,806
19941,290,099
19951,293,738
19961,297,663
19971,303,105
19981,306,723
19991,316,720
20001,324,679
20011,331,194
20021,338,968
20031,349,046
20041,361,384
20051,375,217
20061,389,634
20071,407,791
20081,423,308
20091,435,269
20101,451,905
20111,466,466
20121,478,262
20131,490,021
20141,506,187
20151,517,016
20161,531,022
20171,542,707
20181,552,853
20191,562,840
20201,567,971
20211,578,552
20221,595,912
20231,619,302
20241,639,077
20251,652,769
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Kent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 264,684 people in 1996; 311,071 people in 2025. 17.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Kent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991256,923
1992258,495
1993260,409
1994263,063
1995264,194
1996264,684
1997265,617
1998266,599
1999271,543
2000272,381
2001271,661
2002272,737
2003274,003
2004274,930
2005274,995
2006275,851
2007277,447
2008278,686
2009279,827
2010281,477
2011283,721
2012285,102
2013285,733
2014286,730
2015288,153
2016290,548
2017293,219
2018295,821
2019297,560
2020298,078
2021299,111
2022304,296
2023308,557
2024310,922
2025311,071
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Kent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 808,220 people in 1996; 998,718 people in 2025. 23.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Kent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991807,058
1992804,119
1993802,192
1994803,791
1995805,467
1996808,220
1997812,009
1998814,183
1999819,047
2000825,241
2001831,026
2002835,819
2003842,858
2004852,162
2005863,689
2006875,669
2007888,580
2008897,972
2009903,273
2010912,390
2011917,814
2012916,394
2013918,746
2014926,080
2015930,270
2016936,979
2017942,471
2018946,235
2019950,267
2020951,868
2021958,127
2022965,246
2023979,700
2024991,049
2025998,718
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Kent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 224,759 people in 1996; 342,980 people in 2025. 52.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Kent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991221,817
1992222,621
1993223,205
1994223,245
1995224,077
1996224,759
1997225,479
1998225,941
1999226,130
2000227,057
2001228,507
2002230,412
2003232,185
2004234,292
2005236,533
2006238,114
2007241,764
2008246,650
2009252,169
2010258,038
2011264,931
2012276,766
2013285,542
2014293,377
2015298,593
2016303,495
2017307,017
2018310,797
2019315,013
2020318,025
2021321,314
2022326,370
2023331,045
2024337,106
2025342,980
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 1,576,069 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kent · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh69,9394.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African41,0362.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups36,7662.3%
White1,409,00689.4%
Other ethnic group19,3221.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 1,463,740 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kent · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White1,371,10293.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups22,1071.5%
Asian/Asian British47,6143.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British16,2161.1%
Other ethnic group6,7010.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 1,329,718 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kent · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White1,288,18496.9%
Mixed11,0740.8%
Asian/Asian British18,8871.4%
Black/Black British4,7300.4%
Chinese/Other6,8430.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 6.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Kent council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,527.08 per person in 1997; £27,664.55 per person in 2024. 140% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Kent council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,527.08
199811,593.89
199912,052.68
200012,765.36
200113,288.82
200213,594.8
200313,826.07
200414,432.37
200514,849.29
200615,399.74
200716,135.21
200816,489.75
200916,973.82
201017,070.68
201117,216.22
201217,815.52
201318,582.29
201419,057.39
201519,988.58
201620,462.15
201720,935.93
201821,537.13
201922,310.03
202022,184.72
202123,270.06
202224,513.12
202326,049.94
202427,664.55
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Kent council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 8.64% in 1997; 6.55% in 2024. 2.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Kent council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19978.64
19987.08
19996.55
20007.24
20017.42
20027.45
20036.07
20046.34
20055.63
20065.16
20075.15
20084.7
20096.01
20105.69
20115.66
20125.48
20136.09
20145.39
20155.07
20166.26
20176.27
20185.52
20195.88
20205.69
20216.53
20226.75
20236.54
20246.55
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.1%

21 March 2021 · Kent County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.5%

21 March 2021 · Kent County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18%

21 March 2021 · Kent County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Kent County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£347,000

July 2026 · Kent County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.