Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Swale, in numbers

People and living standards: Swale

Swale local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Swale local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 116,149 in 1991 to 160,671 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Swale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 117,337 people in 1996; 160,671 people in 2025. 36.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Swale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991116,149
1992116,179
1993116,669
1994116,798
1995117,552
1996117,337
1997118,268
1998118,693
1999120,079
2000121,638
2001123,123
2002124,172
2003125,348
2004125,890
2005126,516
2006127,568
2007129,721
2008131,720
2009133,030
2010134,980
2011136,324
2012137,694
2013139,135
2014140,992
2015142,723
2016145,184
2017146,846
2018148,400
2019149,753
2020150,584
2021152,218
2022154,683
2023156,521
2024158,754
2025160,671
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Swale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,478 people in 1996; 31,173 people in 2025. 22.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Swale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,226
199225,222
199325,458
199425,605
199525,628
199625,478
199725,575
199825,480
199926,059
200026,313
200126,555
200226,664
200326,717
200426,641
200526,453
200626,311
200726,615
200826,842
200926,950
201027,207
201127,362
201227,583
201327,667
201427,704
201527,882
201628,385
201728,703
201829,040
201929,337
202029,567
202129,725
202230,357
202330,688
202430,968
202531,173
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Swale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 74,117 people in 1996; 98,316 people in 2025. 32.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Swale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199173,750
199273,683
199373,809
199473,730
199574,299
199674,117
199774,824
199875,290
199975,961
200077,002
200178,129
200278,807
200379,540
200479,899
200580,433
200681,334
200782,816
200884,113
200984,647
201085,581
201186,089
201285,907
201386,291
201487,208
201588,011
201689,349
201790,309
201891,183
201991,854
202092,273
202193,382
202294,722
202395,834
202497,288
202598,316
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Swale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,742 people in 1996; 31,182 people in 2025. 75.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Swale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,173
199217,274
199317,402
199417,463
199517,625
199617,742
199717,869
199817,923
199918,059
200018,323
200118,439
200218,701
200319,091
200419,350
200519,630
200619,923
200720,290
200820,765
200921,433
201022,192
201122,873
201224,204
201325,177
201426,080
201526,830
201627,450
201727,834
201828,177
201928,562
202028,744
202129,111
202229,604
202329,999
202430,498
202531,182
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 151,677 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swale · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,3121.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,4872.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,7411.8%
White142,34193.8%
Other ethnic group7960.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 135,835 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swale · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White131,15596.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5751.2%
Asian/Asian British1,4891.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,3951%
Other ethnic group2210.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 122,801 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swale · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White120,51698.1%
Mixed8350.7%
Asian/Asian British7110.6%
Black/Black British4050.3%
Chinese/Other3340.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 6.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Swale council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,222 per person in 1997; £24,338 per person in 2024. 138.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Swale council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,222
199810,311
199910,792
200011,280
200111,711
200212,066
200312,300
200412,852
200513,243
200613,728
200714,311
200814,574
200915,053
201015,172
201115,308
201215,819
201316,335
201416,859
201517,576
201618,121
201718,611
201819,229
201919,929
202019,848
202120,660
202221,622
202322,960
202424,338
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Swale council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.7% in 1997; -6.3% in 2024. 2.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Swale council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.7
1998-4.8
1999-4.6
2000-5.2
2001-5.3
2002-4.6
2003-5.6
2004-5.3
2005-5.8
2006-6.3
2007-6.7
2008-7.5
2009-6
2010-6.1
2011-6.1
2012-6.3
2013-6.7
2014-6.8
2015-7.6
2016-5.9
2017-5.5
2018-5.8
2019-5.4
2020-5.4
2021-5.4
2022-5.8
2023-6.1
2024-6.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.7%

21 March 2021 · Swale local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.5%

21 March 2021 · Swale local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22%

21 March 2021 · Swale local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · Swale local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£299,000

July 2026 · Swale local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,114

August 2026 · Swale local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.