Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Sevenoaks, in numbers

People and living standards: Sevenoaks

Sevenoaks local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Sevenoaks local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 109,386 in 1991 to 123,183 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Sevenoaks council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 108,744 people in 1996; 123,183 people in 2025. 13.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Sevenoaks council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991109,386
1992108,845
1993108,817
1994108,938
1995108,378
1996108,744
1997109,414
1998109,141
1999109,646
2000109,539
2001109,242
2002109,105
2003109,280
2004110,045
2005111,266
2006112,500
2007113,132
2008113,298
2009113,754
2010114,509
2011115,351
2012116,250
2013116,696
2014117,376
2015117,735
2016118,289
2017118,489
2018119,165
2019119,575
2020120,051
2021120,823
2022121,155
2023121,788
2024122,650
2025123,183
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Sevenoaks council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,238 people in 1996; 23,710 people in 2025. 6.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Sevenoaks council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,338
199222,348
199322,374
199422,398
199522,224
199622,238
199722,199
199822,139
199922,412
200022,385
200122,136
200222,143
200322,243
200422,253
200522,315
200622,569
200722,611
200822,506
200922,433
201022,450
201122,481
201222,738
201322,917
201423,116
201523,329
201623,612
201723,580
201823,814
201923,965
202023,953
202123,846
202223,968
202323,960
202423,836
202523,710
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Sevenoaks council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,596 people in 1996; 71,806 people in 2025. 4.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Sevenoaks council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,244
199269,521
199369,291
199469,152
199568,559
199668,596
199769,029
199868,613
199968,755
200068,513
200168,281
200267,881
200367,856
200468,328
200569,338
200670,084
200770,506
200870,444
200970,530
201070,782
201170,977
201270,575
201370,202
201470,204
201569,890
201669,793
201769,903
201869,994
201969,972
202070,292
202170,882
202270,700
202370,957
202471,522
202571,806
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Sevenoaks council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,910 people in 1996; 27,667 people in 2025. 54.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Sevenoaks council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,804
199216,976
199317,152
199417,388
199517,595
199617,910
199718,186
199818,389
199918,479
200018,641
200118,825
200219,081
200319,181
200419,464
200519,613
200619,847
200720,015
200820,348
200920,791
201021,277
201121,893
201222,937
201323,577
201424,056
201524,516
201624,884
201725,006
201825,357
201925,638
202025,806
202126,095
202226,487
202326,871
202427,292
202527,667
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 120,515 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sevenoaks · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,4842.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,9321.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,1812.6%
White111,00592.1%
Other ethnic group9130.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 114,893 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sevenoaks · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,02995.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6751.5%
Asian/Asian British2,0851.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8530.7%
Other ethnic group2510.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 109,305 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sevenoaks · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White107,07298%
Mixed8470.8%
Asian/Asian British6370.6%
Black/Black British2590.2%
Chinese/Other4900.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 53% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Sevenoaks council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £17,223 per person in 1997; £39,738 per person in 2024. 130.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Sevenoaks council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199717,223
199817,157
199917,448
200018,822
200119,412
200219,551
200319,801
200420,761
200521,335
200622,202
200723,427
200824,172
200924,291
201024,324
201124,574
201225,279
201326,921
201427,633
201529,516
201629,554
201730,100
201830,549
201931,090
202029,919
202132,196
202234,670
202337,346
202439,738
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Sevenoaks council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 62.3% in 1997; 53% in 2024. 9.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Sevenoaks council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199762.3
199858.5
199954.2
200058.1
200156.9
200254.5
200351.9
200453
200551.8
200651.6
200752.7
200853.5
200951.7
201050.6
201150.8
201249.7
201353.7
201452.8
201555.2
201653.5
201752.8
201849.7
201947.5
202042.5
202147.4
202251
202352.7
202453
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.4%

21 March 2021 · Sevenoaks local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.6%

21 March 2021 · Sevenoaks local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Sevenoaks local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4%

21 March 2021 · Sevenoaks local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£539,000

July 2026 · Sevenoaks local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,809

August 2026 · Sevenoaks local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.