Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Ashford, in numbers

People and living standards: Ashford

Ashford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Ashford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 93,122 in 1991 to 142,523 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Ashford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 96,442 people in 1996; 142,523 people in 2025. 47.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Ashford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199193,122
199293,092
199393,092
199493,763
199595,066
199696,442
199797,536
199897,975
1999100,072
2000101,377
2001103,024
2002104,377
2003105,636
2004107,264
2005109,409
2006111,459
2007113,286
2008114,556
2009115,694
2010116,975
2011118,405
2012120,191
2013121,850
2014123,682
2015124,580
2016126,327
2017128,049
2018129,701
2019130,466
2020131,431
2021133,221
2022135,671
2023138,692
2024140,812
2025142,523
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Ashford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,257 people in 1996; 27,301 people in 2025. 34.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Ashford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,175
199219,318
199319,448
199419,770
199519,970
199620,257
199720,469
199820,629
199921,435
200021,567
200121,808
200222,263
200322,647
200423,199
200523,556
200623,897
200724,103
200824,239
200924,318
201024,487
201124,581
201224,795
201325,096
201425,211
201525,195
201625,481
201725,762
201825,984
201925,909
202025,824
202126,002
202226,611
202327,167
202427,270
202527,301
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Ashford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 60,491 people in 1996; 86,808 people in 2025. 43.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Ashford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199158,887
199258,595
199358,462
199458,694
199559,587
199660,491
199761,142
199861,309
199962,396
200063,339
200164,569
200265,337
200366,059
200466,953
200568,498
200669,983
200771,237
200871,884
200972,421
201072,931
201173,631
201274,083
201374,579
201475,488
201575,840
201676,862
201777,833
201878,856
201979,394
202079,959
202181,077
202282,306
202384,338
202485,738
202586,808
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Ashford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,694 people in 1996; 28,414 people in 2025. 81.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Ashford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,060
199215,179
199315,182
199415,299
199515,509
199615,694
199715,925
199816,037
199916,241
200016,471
200116,647
200216,777
200316,930
200417,112
200517,355
200617,579
200717,946
200818,433
200918,955
201019,557
201120,193
201221,313
201322,175
201422,983
201523,545
201623,984
201724,454
201824,861
201925,163
202025,648
202126,142
202226,754
202327,187
202427,804
202528,414
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 132,747 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ashford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7,6685.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,4242.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,8772.2%
White116,89688.1%
Other ethnic group1,8821.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 117,956 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ashford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,52093.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6821.4%
Asian/Asian British3,9913.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,3751.2%
Other ethnic group3880.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 102,661 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ashford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White100,15497.6%
Mixed8770.9%
Asian/Asian British7440.7%
Black/Black British4450.4%
Chinese/Other4410.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Ashford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,783 per person in 1997; £26,868 per person in 2024. 110.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Ashford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,783
199812,803
199913,125
200013,828
200114,238
200214,430
200314,569
200415,144
200515,431
200615,866
200716,558
200816,864
200917,325
201017,476
201117,481
201218,052
201318,713
201419,092
201519,671
201620,251
201720,535
201820,874
201921,510
202021,734
202122,734
202223,952
202325,448
202426,868
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Ashford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 20.5% in 1997; 3.5% in 2024. 17 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Ashford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199720.5
199818.2
199916
200016.2
200115.1
200214.1
200311.8
200411.6
20059.8
20068.3
20077.9
20087.1
20098.2
20108.2
20117.3
20126.9
20136.8
20145.6
20153.4
20165.2
20174.2
20182.3
20192.1
20203.5
20214.1
20224.3
20234.1
20243.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.6%

21 March 2021 · Ashford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Ashford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.6%

21 March 2021 · Ashford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Ashford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£348,000

July 2026 · Ashford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,248

August 2026 · Ashford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.