Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Thanet, in numbers

People and living standards: Thanet

Thanet local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Thanet local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 126,078 in 1991 to 143,618 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Thanet council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 124,433 people in 1996; 143,618 people in 2025. 15.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Thanet council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991126,078
1992125,402
1993124,668
1994124,380
1995124,265
1996124,433
1997125,370
1998125,523
1999126,476
2000126,453
2001126,750
2002127,675
2003128,140
2004128,782
2005129,301
2006129,601
2007130,637
2008131,750
2009132,337
2010133,508
2011134,402
2012135,730
2013136,916
2014138,695
2015139,668
2016140,373
2017140,680
2018140,848
2019140,624
2020139,945
2021140,658
2022140,511
2023140,794
2024142,158
2025143,618
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Thanet council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,598 people in 1996; 24,922 people in 2025. 1.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Thanet council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,132
199224,239
199324,345
199424,483
199524,524
199624,598
199724,841
199824,960
199925,734
200025,648
200125,496
200225,565
200325,511
200425,327
200525,163
200625,089
200725,116
200825,103
200925,275
201025,431
201125,703
201225,847
201325,792
201425,714
201525,733
201625,771
201725,857
201825,823
201925,573
202025,249
202125,113
202225,102
202325,118
202425,118
202524,922
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Thanet council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,047 people in 1996; 83,879 people in 2025. 18.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Thanet council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199171,530
199270,971
199370,436
199470,386
199570,550
199671,047
199772,059
199872,531
199972,837
200073,100
200173,688
200274,521
200375,084
200476,039
200576,828
200677,332
200778,095
200878,979
200979,287
201079,929
201180,106
201280,241
201380,704
201481,818
201582,271
201682,395
201782,296
201882,385
201981,937
202081,508
202182,137
202281,698
202381,828
202482,843
202583,879
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Thanet council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,788 people in 1996; 34,817 people in 2025. 20.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Thanet council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,416
199230,192
199329,887
199429,511
199529,191
199628,788
199728,470
199828,032
199927,905
200027,705
200127,566
200227,589
200327,545
200427,416
200527,310
200627,180
200727,426
200827,668
200927,775
201028,148
201128,593
201229,642
201330,420
201431,163
201531,664
201632,207
201732,527
201832,640
201933,114
202033,188
202133,408
202233,711
202333,848
202434,197
202534,817
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 140,587 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Thanet · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,2592.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4811.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,4202.4%
White130,71993%
Other ethnic group1,7081.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 134,186 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Thanet · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White128,19495.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,1861.6%
Asian/Asian British2,5041.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9100.7%
Other ethnic group3920.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 126,702 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Thanet · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White123,77097.7%
Mixed1,0680.8%
Asian/Asian British7870.6%
Black/Black British4290.3%
Chinese/Other6480.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Thanet council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,268 per person in 1997; £24,665 per person in 2024. 198.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Thanet council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,268
19988,423
19998,919
20009,405
20019,982
200210,336
200310,742
200411,288
200511,766
200612,315
200712,910
200813,301
200914,168
201014,341
201114,620
201215,145
201315,606
201416,024
201516,532
201617,073
201717,504
201818,043
201918,775
202019,399
202120,251
202221,382
202323,262
202424,665
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Thanet council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -22.1% in 1997; -5% in 2024. 17.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Thanet council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-22.1
1998-22.2
1999-21.2
2000-21
2001-19.3
2002-18.3
2003-17.6
2004-16.8
2005-16.3
2006-15.9
2007-15.9
2008-15.5
2009-11.5
2010-11.2
2011-10.3
2012-10.3
2013-10.9
2014-11.4
2015-13.1
2016-11.3
2017-11.2
2018-11.6
2019-10.9
2020-7.6
2021-7.3
2022-6.9
2023-4.9
2024-5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

51.3%

21 March 2021 · Thanet local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.7%

21 March 2021 · Thanet local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.7%

21 March 2021 · Thanet local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.2%

21 March 2021 · Thanet local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£270,000

July 2026 · Thanet local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,118

August 2026 · Thanet local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.