Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Dover, in numbers

People and living standards: Dover

Dover local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Dover local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 104,434 in 1991 to 121,055 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Dover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 103,571 people in 1996; 121,055 people in 2025. 16.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Dover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991104,434
1992104,606
1993104,063
1994104,375
1995104,084
1996103,571
1997103,351
1998103,686
1999104,006
2000104,478
2001104,646
2002104,883
2003105,784
2004106,878
2005107,475
2006107,904
2007109,041
2008109,848
2009110,061
2010111,072
2011111,718
2012111,529
2013111,979
2014112,541
2015112,464
2016113,365
2017114,335
2018115,148
2019115,902
2020116,134
2021116,549
2022117,514
2023118,950
2024119,805
2025121,055
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Dover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,239 people in 1996; 20,566 people in 2025. 3.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Dover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,554
199220,780
199320,930
199421,265
199521,336
199621,239
199721,238
199821,255
199921,319
200021,305
200121,087
200220,929
200320,917
200420,804
200520,640
200620,447
200720,375
200820,284
200920,200
201020,163
201120,192
201219,988
201319,963
201419,850
201519,814
201619,925
201720,079
201820,170
201920,251
202020,187
202120,231
202220,431
202320,579
202420,520
202520,566
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Dover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 62,650 people in 1996; 70,023 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Dover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,253
199264,146
199363,435
199463,394
199563,034
199662,650
199762,409
199862,712
199963,062
200063,557
200163,877
200264,145
200364,832
200465,861
200566,511
200667,062
200768,004
200868,443
200968,324
201068,768
201168,803
201267,848
201367,478
201467,469
201567,113
201667,299
201767,785
201868,093
201968,286
202068,193
202168,263
202268,451
202369,178
202469,411
202570,023
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Dover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,682 people in 1996; 30,466 people in 2025. 54.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Dover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,627
199219,680
199319,698
199419,716
199519,714
199619,682
199719,704
199819,719
199919,625
200019,616
200119,682
200219,809
200320,035
200420,213
200520,324
200620,395
200720,662
200821,121
200921,537
201022,141
201122,723
201223,693
201324,538
201425,222
201525,537
201626,141
201726,471
201826,885
201927,365
202027,754
202128,055
202228,632
202329,193
202429,874
202530,466
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 116,411 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dover · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,4022.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8370.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7541.5%
White110,41994.9%
Other ethnic group9990.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 111,674 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dover · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White107,96696.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0290.9%
Asian/Asian British2,0311.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3860.3%
Other ethnic group2620.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 104,566 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dover · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White103,02398.5%
Mixed5790.6%
Asian/Asian British4160.4%
Black/Black British1910.2%
Chinese/Other3570.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 4.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Dover council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,587 per person in 1997; £24,830 per person in 2024. 189.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Dover council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,587
19988,757
19999,274
20009,787
200110,411
200210,821
200311,140
200411,721
200512,206
200612,786
200713,461
200813,851
200914,579
201014,743
201115,000
201215,733
201316,417
201416,983
201517,814
201618,318
201718,660
201819,180
201919,833
202019,931
202120,806
202221,934
202323,240
202424,830
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Dover council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -19.1% in 1997; -4.4% in 2024. 14.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Dover council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-19.1
1998-19.1
1999-18
2000-17.8
2001-15.8
2002-14.5
2003-14.5
2004-13.6
2005-13.2
2006-12.7
2007-12.3
2008-12
2009-8.9
2010-8.7
2011-7.9
2012-6.8
2013-6.3
2014-6.1
2015-6.4
2016-4.9
2017-5.3
2018-6
2019-5.9
2020-5
2021-4.7
2022-4.5
2023-5
2024-4.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53%

21 March 2021 · Dover local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.9%

21 March 2021 · Dover local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.5%

21 March 2021 · Dover local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.2%

21 March 2021 · Dover local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£278,000

July 2026 · Dover local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,021

August 2026 · Dover local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.