Skip to content
Kent Counts — Kent, in numbers.Local help →

Canterbury, in numbers

Projects: Canterbury

Canterbury local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

5 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Canterbury Castle, Castle Row and linked city-centre routes

Connected Canterbury: Castle and heritage routes

Repairs to the castle and better gardens, paths and signs aim to reconnect heritage sites with the city centre. Different parts of the programme finish at different times.

Castle stonework stabilised; landscaping completion unconfirmed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The council records castle stonework stabilisation completed in December 2025 and schedules the keep and grounds for late summer 2026. The reviewed page still uses future wording for reopening.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Levelling Up work and timescales →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn Canterbury’s strategy into a small deliverable programme →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Westgate Square, Dane John Gardens and story gardens

Connected Canterbury: squares and story gardens

Renewed squares and gardens give residents and visitors places to meet, move through and enjoy events. They form part of the wider heritage programme.

Transformed spaces reported; completion celebration announced · evidence dated 2026-03-27

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The council describes newly revitalised spaces and announces a 24 May celebration of the squares and gardens projects. This record does not treat that announcement as completion of all Connected Canterbury work.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

City festival celebrates completion of public spaces transformation →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep Canterbury’s renewed public spaces useful throughout the year →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Canterbury city centre

City Centre Strategy 2026–2043

The strategy tackles empty properties, difficult routes through the centre and the need to sustain shops, culture and learning. Individual projects still need selecting and costing.

Published strategic framework; project programme still to be developed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The strategy identifies the former Nason’s and Debenhams sites and fragmented connections. It explicitly says detailed costed projects are not set out, with an October 2026–April 2028 action plan to be developed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Canterbury City Centre Strategy 2026 to 2043 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn Canterbury’s strategy into a small deliverable programme →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Canterbury district, including Canterbury city, Whitstable, Herne Bay and rural areas

More suitable homes and less temporary accommodation

The district’s adopted housing strategy aims to improve council homes and reduce temporary placements away from the area. It sets a direction, not a completed building programme.

Housing strategy adopted; separate homelessness consultation closed · evidence dated 2026-06-30

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The strategy records 186 households in temporary accommodation on 22 May 2026, including 87 outside the district (printed page 20). The separate homelessness strategy remained a draft on the reviewed consultation page, which closed on 2 September.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named site or council-wide remit is not proof of benefits to every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Housing Strategy 2026–2030, adopted 30 June 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Help households stay closer to their support networks →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Wincheap Commercial Area, Canterbury

Wincheap homes and business-space proposals

Wincheap is proposed as a place for homes alongside business and leisure space. The housing strategy supports preparatory work; it does not grant permission or confirm completed homes.

Draft-plan proposal; preparatory work described in the adopted housing strategy · evidence dated 2026-06-30

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council and development partners

What the source says: The housing strategy describes about 1,000 proposed homes at Wincheap, with affordable housing and retention of business, commercial and leisure floorspace. Detailed requirements, partnerships and transport connections still need development.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named site or council-wide remit is not proof of benefits to every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Housing Strategy 2026–2030, adopted 30 June 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Help households stay closer to their support networks →

Do not count Wincheap proposals as delivered housing →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →